L. Monika Moskal
Keala Hagmann
Julia Michalak

Three UW School of Environmental and Forest Sciences (SEFS) community members have been named to COMPASS’s 2021 Wilburforce Leaders in Conservation Science cohort.

L. Monika Moskal, SEFS Professor and Associate Director; Julia Michalak, SEFS research scientist; and Keala Hagmann, of Applegate Forestry LLC and SEFS; were all named to the 2021 cohort. Twenty people were chosen for the cohort from more than 100 applicants.

COMPASS and the Wilburforce Foundation launched the program to activate a strong network of scientists across North America with the readiness and vision to be leaders, according to the COMPASS website. The year-long program begins in May 2021 and prepares scientists for meaningful change for themselves, their communities and society as a whole.

“From the Arctic to northern Mexico, these twenty conservation scientists will support one another to bring their whole selves to their science and engagement, become more skillful and strategic communicators, and make progress toward their conservation goals through public engagement,” the website goes on to say.

See the entire 2021 cohort and read more about their research on the COMPASS website here.