Every spring, the UW School of Environmental and Forest Sciences recognizes a number of people within the SEFS community for their efforts over the previous year. Given the difficulties of the past year and a half, the SEFS Awards Committee opted to award two people per award. Additionally, a new award was added to this year’s lineup.

The Outstanding Commitment to Inclusion, Equity and Diversity Award recognizes a person or people who has or have taken on leadership in existing or new efforts aimed at inclusion and supporting students, faculty and staff within SEFS; have demonstrated an innovative approach to diversity and inclusion within their own scholarship, teaching or disciplinary community; and demonstrated commitment to both short-term and long-term positive change.

The 2021 Award Winners:

Undergraduate Students of the Year:

  • Ally Kruper
  • Georgia Coleman

Graduate Students of the Year:

  • Elena Becerril Salas
  • Sarah Bassing

Faculty Members of the Year:

  • L. Monika Moskal, Professor and SEFS Associate Director
  • Indroneil Ganguly, Associate Professor

Staff Members of the Year:

  • David Zuckerman, Manager of Horticulture for the Washington Park Arboretum
  • Lisa Nordlund, Undergraduate Advisor

Outstanding Commitment to Inclusion, Equity and Diversity Award:

  • Esaac Mazengia, Undergraduate Student
  • Ernesto Alvarado, Research Associate Professor

Richard D. Taber Awards for Wildlife Sciences

  • Georgia Coleman – The Richard D. Taber Award for the Top Wildlife Student – $1000
  • Alyssa Ryser, Marcela Todd-Zaragoza and Cameron Ho – The Richard D. Taber Excellence in Wildlife Science Awards – $750