The School of Environmental and Forest Sciences (SEFS) is a part of the College of the Environment at the University of Washington (UW). The UW is an institution committed to promoting respect for the rights and privileges of all, understanding and appreciation of human differences and the constructive expression of ideas.

Charges

  • Track diversity efforts within SEFS
  • Find new ways of recruiting diverse, especially underrepresented minority faculty, staff and students
  • Seek to find and remove barriers to diversity at the School
  • Create partnerships with and learn best practices from other diversity efforts, both on and off campus
  • Involve diverse members of the School in leadership and mentorship

With broad input and endorsement by all School faculty, a school-specific Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Plan is created annually to increase the diversity of the graduate student population.

Reports

SEFS DEIC Annual Report 2019-2020

Contact

Sarah Converse, associate professor, 206-685-2315, sconver@uw.edu
Brian J. Harvey, assistant professor, 206-685-9929, bjharvey@uw.edu

Members

Sarah Converse, faculty (sconver@uw.edu)
Brian Harvey, faculty (bjharvey@uw.edu)
Ernesto Alvarado, faculty (alvarado@uw.edu)
Van Kane, faculty (vkane@uw.edu)
Jay Johnson, emeritus faculty (jjohnson@uw.edu)
Bryce Bartl-Geller, staff member (bnbg@uw.edu)
Amanda Davis, staff member (adavis4@uw.edu)
Stacey Dixon, staff member (sedixon@uw.edu)
Greg Olsen, staff member (gjkolsen@uw.edu)
Lauren Satterfield, graduate student (lsatter@uw.edu)
Courtney Bobsin, graduate student (cbobsin@uw.edu)
Esaac Mazengia, undergraduate student (esaacm@uw.edu)
Thuy Luu, undergraduate student (tnluu@uw.edu)
Sierra Redbow, Lakota Oglala, undergraduate student (sjrb@uw.edu )

Special Adviser to the Director on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion:
Stanley Asah, faculty (stasah@uw.edu)

Back to Top